Weep, World. Weep.

Standard

Oh Weep World! Weep for the dead

I weep for the hate, the blood spilled

Kenya, country of my ancestors

Country of my blood, my blood spills

Only seen in the black and white static

Numbers, over 60 dead and many injured

Weep, oh I weep for the blood spilled

The hate that causes the rat tat tat clatter

Of gunfire and children’s bodies strewn

Across the floor and pregnant women

Holding the promise of tomorrow die,

Gasping last breathes, choking

On the hate that the metal spews

I weep for the world, the world weeps

Red blood and real people distanced

By black ink on blank screens as WE

Comment hate and then more hate

Relentless floods that surpass the blood

Pouring from the bodies of the dead.

Why world!? Weep I say Weep!

Enmity has poisoned us all, we are lost

We can’t see that when we kill our brothers die

Death begets death as hate begets hate

By blade, gun or anonymous keyboards

Weep I say! Weep world!

Not for Kenya, country of my ancestors

Weep for yourself. Weep for the countless dead

Weep for the hate unchecked, running rampart

Weep for the poison we have consumed.

Weep world…weep.

2 thoughts on “Weep, World. Weep.

  1. If I could speak passionately aloud…if I had the courage, I would cry out these words with the force and passion that I feel now in my soul. I find in your writing a likeness of mind, a similar view of the broken state of the world. I often fear that I am the only one who sees, and that everyone else is blind to the destruction that is around us. But you have shown it expertly here–not simply in the current events but also in the carelessness of our everyday hate and contempt. Absolutely perfect, my friend.

    The Scribbler

Leave a Reply

