Labels: Rewritten

Standard

Today in class, I was placed in a box.

We learned about the stages of life,

neatly labeled stacks of staircase steps

that we must walk from birth till death.

Each square stage clearly marked with age

and named like a progression of birthday gifts.

I am boxed in role identity vs. confusion

with the box clearly marked teenager.

Slowly approaching the next step

intimacy vs. isolation with trepidation.

Logical and sensible, these square stages

rule our lives and dictate our behaviors

and make us forget that we are human.

We don’t fit in stages limited by ages

but rather exist in the spaces between.

I don’t know the role I’m meant to play,

but maybe I’m not the one confused.

Maybe the world that tells us not to step on

the cracks or else you’ll break your mamas back

is the one that’s confused because

when I stepped on the crack  it wasn’t her

back but her heart that broke.

I am trapped in between stages, searching

for someone to love me, but the world says

that to love someone you gotta know them.

If I ask her if she is who she is and she says

that she’s she and I believe her even though

she doesn’t know who she is, who’s confused?

I try to love her, but can’t because I don’t love me

or even know me, because I’m stuck.

Stuck in the crack people pretend doesn’t exist

cause they don’t want to break their mothers back.

We crack stuck unfortunates become actors,

because everyone knows that life is a stage.

But before we were just props placed strategically,

angelic cherubim children displayed like paintings

but now we are actors and we gotta work these roles.

Even though we don’t know our lines,

kissing the girl before we know if we are meant to

love her, hate her, kill her or not even meet her.

Unguided actors to busy tonguing to learn

the lines and too mature to play-the roles.

Don’t tell me we are the ones confused

when everyone is preaching these squares stages

when we all know that the world is round.

This is a rewritten version of a poem I posted earlier called Labels. You can read that here: https://patheticwithpotential.wordpress.com/2012/03/24/labels/  As you can see it’s greatly improved upon, at least in my opinion. But I am hoping the general feel is the same. I often do this, vomit words on a page that contain the core meaning I want to portray but in pretty much hopelessly bad condition. Then later I come back and try to pretty it up a little 🙂 Hope you enjoyed!

One thought on “Labels: Rewritten

  1. “Logical and sensible, these square stages

    rule our lives and dictate our behaviors

    and make us forget that we are human.

    We don’t fit in stages limited by ages

    but rather exist in the spaces between.”

    I haven’t read the original one, but this is absolutely fantastic, Moses. It doesn’t come across as traditional teenage angst. I actually think it’s a mature and insightful view into the world, and the people inside. We act like we are cardboard cut-outs on an ever-shifting stage, but the world is really round and we’ve got more dimensions than what we let each other see. Well done, my friend.

    The Scribbler

Leave a Reply

