The Tide is Rising

Standard

Sweeping over me, the rising tide

batters my barriers, beckoning

grasping fingers clutching at me,

tugging at my essence and pride

The flood threatens to overwhelm

and drown me so I struggle to breathe

clutching at air and clarity, silently

wearing a smile, no one to confide

in because I have no way to explain

the dark waters licking at my body

blessing me with the cold ache

that tracks like an roaring avalanche

across my psyche, I’m unable to decide

how to react, moving in slow motion

running in the water, slipping under

hard learned lessons forgotten in favor

of flailing, hoping to say at least I tried.

It’s not enough to save my sinking self

my anchor floats like a butterfly

and the salty water stings my wounds

a baptism but I’m not left purified

rather sullied by the constant grey

as the water now runs in my veins

so I must bleed to release the toxin,

trying to live like this is suicide

The dark tide rises, relentless

But my faith holds strong, endless

4 thoughts on “The Tide is Rising

  1. ” no one to confide
    in because I have no way to explain
    the dark waters licking at my body
    blessing me with the cold ache
    that tracks like an roaring avalanche
    across my psyche…..

    so I must bleed to release the toxin,
    trying to live like this is suicide
    The dark tide rises, relentless
    But my faith holds strong, endless”

    I love these lines. I love the poem as a whole, but specifically these lines. They speak a tangible reality that I’ve never been able to put into the right words. These come close. Great write, and stay strong.

    The Scribbler

Leave a Reply

