Better Tomorrow

Standard

I awoke in quiet desolation,

softly sinking rain slowly

drowning the world in grey.

Clouds hung overhead,

heavy and hushed.

Each footfall flaccid and dull

muffled by miserable mud,

the sound silenced, deadened.

The dying landscape bleached

of color like a faded memory

of life trapped in black and white.

I rage into the dreary day,

imaginary screams swallowed whole

wholly consumed by unholy silence.

Even my demons desire rest

and so I return to oblivion

and dream of a brighter tomorrow.

 

This poem is matched up with another poem called Tomorrow Has Come, please check it out to see the continuation! https://patheticwithpotential.wordpress.com/2013/11/10/tomorrow-has-come/

4 thoughts on “Better Tomorrow

  1. “Even my demons desire rest
    and so I return to oblivion
    and dream of a brighter tomorrow.”

    I love the poem as a whole. This ending totally takes it, though, brings it all home. So exhausted, so weary, that even colors and demons seem to have taken a vacation. Wonderful.

    The Scribbler

    • I’m really happy you said that because I like this poem a lot. The beginning flowed out almost fully formed but I really struggled to bring it to a close because my instinct was to try to make it a happy poem but it just didn’t feel genuine.

      • Genuine is better than a happy ending. Honest writing is always worth more, even if it’s painful or sad or disturbing. Makes the happy endings that much better. Glad I could offer some encouragement. [:

Leave a Reply

