For You

Standard

I wish for you happiness, no. More.

For you I wish a babies laughter

the childish chortle chasing away cares.

I wish for you a moment transfixed

in awe as the sky bleeds purple, red, orange

painting the dusk sky with magic.

I wish for you bubbles bursting in ecstasy

infinitesimal rainbows floating

carelessly with the flowing wind.

I wish for you the crisp feel of cash

as you dig your hands into your pockets.

For you I wish the first bite of a cookie

meltingly fresh from the oven

and smelling like home and heaven.

I wish for you a smile that reaches

your eyes and out beyond and infects

others with the delightful disease.

I wish for you peace, a nap

perfectly placed in your day

an oasis in the desert of stress.

For you I wish music that thrums through you,

ignites your blood and explodes your feet

in a flurry of action beyond control.

I wish for you covers still warm

from the dryer caressing away

the aches with the languid warmth.

For you I wish a gust of autumn wind

casting color to the sky and carrying

the scents of mystery and adventure.

I wish for you happiness, and more.

But most of all I wish for you love.

A love so true that the blaze consumes

your heart in an eternal flame and you burn

brilliant bright within your soul.

2 thoughts on “For You

  1. “For you I wish the first bite of a cookie
    meltingly fresh from the oven
    and smelling like home and heaven.
    ….
    But most of all I wish for you love.
    A love so true that the blaze consumes
    your heart in an eternal flame and you burn
    brilliant bright within your soul.”

    The amount of feels here… This is a heartfelt yet lighthearted piece. It calls to mind those comforts that we all love, those little luxuries that always bring a smile. These are the things that you could wish for a total stranger. Beautiful piece, friend. And I wish it for you.

    The Scribbler

Leave a Reply

