I’m Drowning in Misery and Miracles

Standard

This morning I awoke, hardly refreshed

everything already quickly vanishing

Like having a story just disappear,

I guess dreams aren’t meant to be kept

but treasured like forgotten childhoods.

Still, itchy, it tickled my conscious,

like religion and other touchy subjects.

Little details bubbling to the surface,

the hot greasy meat lovers pizza

a recipe for disaster, grinding teeth

and toothpicks that were useless.

Forgotten firework flashes from faraway,

like trying to remember my first memory

or remembering how you smelled

when I was standing next to you.

The mental maze was without beginning

and I didn’t know where I would end up

so I simply destroyed the question.

Maybe I was being lazy…

Maybe I should have started flipping tables

searching for the answer, for you

and made this a story of my best days.

But the touchy subjects still surface,

and the awesome moments are long gone

I realize, maybe it’s not meant to be

and I just want to sleep forever

and dream of you and the firework show

but thankfully, I am still breathing

even though my heart is sinking

I’m drowning in misery and miracles.

This is a really exciting poem for me! I got this idea from: http://heatherdorn.wordpress.com/2013/11/18/the-legal-limit/

Basically you create a found poem using: http://what-would-i-say.com

It’s a lot of fun and really pushed your creativity to the limits in order to find connections. The bold words or phrases are pulled directly from the created statuses. Please try it out and link them back to me! I would love to read them!

3 thoughts on “I’m Drowning in Misery and Miracles

  1. Creative indeed! It’s a bit scatterbrained, and I felt like I had just woken up, maybe hungover or maybe high or maybe just exhausted, trying to piece together the events of the night/days/weeks before. Here’s a challenge: if you woke up and this was the only piece you had to the events of a certain period of time (i.e. months, years, your life), what story/explanation would you come up with? Just a thought!

    The Scribbler

Leave a Reply

