Let Me Show You How Great I Am!

Standard

 

I conquered darkness and enslaved flames to my bidding,

 

Shattered silence and spoke the world into existence.

 

I blessed the ground with my sweat and life sprang forth,

 

I consumed blood and fountained forth civilization!

 

Let me show you! Let me show you how great I am!

 

 

 

I ventured forth to the edge of the world and did not fall,

 

I shed the shackles that bound me to the earth and soared.

 

Still I wasn’t free for even birds are bound to the sky

 

so I blasted forth beyond to bid good tidings to the moon.

 

Let me show you! Let me show you how great I am!

 

 

 

I mastered the mysteries of the light and blossomed

 

forth discoveries that let me heal and that let me kill.

 

I failed and failed, spraying the world with blood again and again.

 

But I could not die, Black Death could not conquer me!

 

Let me show you! Let me show you how great I am!

 

 

 

I learned to love, ripping out my heart and offering it,

 

a sacrifice made to a mysterious god beyond mastery.

 

I learned to live again, piecing together broken pieces

 

Jailer and prisoner in a beautifully deadly dance of desire.

 

Let me show you! Let me show you how great I am!

 

3 thoughts on “Let Me Show You How Great I Am!

  1. Laurisa

    Wow. powerful as said above, and very trenchant, easy to read. I felt drawn into it. Couldn’t have stopped if I’d wanted to. Epic, Epic poem.

Leave a Reply

