The Only One That Can Beat Me is Me

Standard

Fight me! Internal darkness descend!

I demand your presence, and command your coming.

You slip from shadow to shadow, summoning death

within me and spitting upon my happiness.

Fight me!

You cover my eyes with your lies and cloud my heart,

control my misery and torture my sanity.

You are an ephemeral spirit but I will batter you senseless,

I will kill your cold embrace and crush your control!

Fight me!

You have no power over me, to render me useless and spent,

I am powerful, I am majestic, I am aflame from within

my draconian temperament will not be enslaved.

You cannot convince me that I am unloved.

Fight me!

Even if the whole world hates me I will still love me!

I will smile even if no one can see the shine,

and I will sing even if I choke and drown in the rain.

I will love even when all I hear is silence!

I would ask you to come down and face me, man to man,

but the reality is, you are me, and you are already defeated.

I have conquered you!

 

Some days can be rough from the get go. You wake up feeling unwanted and irrelevant. You have no energy. You are consumed with a self-hatred that only communication will alleviate but the keys are too difficult to press and so the only thing you hear is silence. You are dissatisfied, angry and lonely. And nothing can lift you from the feeling of pressure and emptiness. I had one of those days today. But I decided that enough is enough. I refuse to be at the whim of whatever force makes me feel this way. I will claw my way back to normalcy crushing whatever it is in the meantime. I can’t control when it strikes, but I can crush it when it comes!

3 thoughts on “The Only One That Can Beat Me is Me

  1. “Even if the whole world hates me I will still love me!
    I will smile even if no one can see the shine,
    and I will sing even if I choke and drown in the rain.
    I will love even when all I hear is silence!”

    These lines are the pride and triumph of every person who has ever battled their way through their demons and darkness. This poem is encouragement for the soul. Fight me, indeed. Great work.

Leave a Reply

